Quick Questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Charity322, Mar 28, 2017.

1. Charity322

Charity322 Scruffy Nerf-Herder

Hi

I'm a newbie to the game and I couldn't find a FAQ or anything that might have the answers.

I've become totally addicted to this game and I want to try adding a couple of mods, but I can't find two things.

How do I find my Stardew Valley mods folder? And if I have to create it, where is SDV installed; I cannot find it? I'm running the game under Steam.

How do I tell what version of SDV I have?

Thanks for any help!

• Corraidhín

Corraidhín Supernova

To find your game on Steam go to your Steam library, right click on your game, properties, browse local files and it will direct you to where its installed. As of yet SDV does NOT "support" mods in a manner like SB does, whereas SB has its own folder to install mods, in SDV you have to REPLACE assets in order to get mods into the game, this works for mods like aesthetics and eye candy. If your intention is to use mods that alter how the game works you ll have to use a 3rd party modding tool like SMAPI or the like, they are here in these forums and have gone through much development, they are safe to use (so long you are responsible about modding and learn how to properly use them) and you BACK UP EVERYTHING you want to mod... like your save games, and data folder... (just the SDV data folder).

I reiterate, if all you want to use are aesthetic mods (replacing assets with prettier or different kind of sprites) then all you have to do is find whatever mod suits your fancy, take a good read to what its REPLACING, and back up the folder it touches BEFORE you start using said mod.

edit: about your SDV version, since you are using Steam... you should be using the latest version as Steam automatically updates games for you. You can also find out by checking out the properties using right click, or running the game and looking at the version its running.

• Charity322

Thanks!