TES4: Oblivion

Discussion in 'Games' started by Xylia, Jun 27, 2017.

1. Xylia

Xylia Tiy's Beard

So, I decided to start a thread because I just started playing this game again.

I saw it on Steam Summer Sale for a measly $10 and figured "why not?" because I only own the original collector's edition and none of the DLC, and it's nice to get the GOTY version which fixes some bugs and what-not, AND I haven't touched Oblivion since Skyrim came out.

I managed to mod it up a bit, got the Oblivion Reloaded, a Texture Pack, and a Character Overhaul (because dude, some of the faces in Oblivion were simply atrocious).

I didn't go REAL heavy on mods, because I wanted as close to vanilla as I could get, just... modernized in terms of graphics and maybe a little gameplay.

So anyways, I'm surprised at how much fun I'm having with this. Perhaps its nostalgia, perhaps it's been enough time that it is almost like a fresh experience because I don't remember very much of the game, but it's been pretty fun! I've been noticing a few things I miss from Skyrim, but yet things I wish Skyrim had.

First, I'll have to start off with my UI complaints.... I don't get why, in 2006, Bethesda still felt that there needn't be a "CLOSE ALL WINDOWS" button. Pick up a book? You MUST click the "Close" button. Want to get out of dialogue/shop interface? Gotta click the close button. Can't hit escape, oh no.

Is there a mod for this, does anybody know? I'd love to install it, if so.

Second, I'll have to wonder... why did they not make complex dungeon traps in Skyrim? The spiked ceiling deathtraps, the trapdoor floors... the enemies hidden behind false walls... in Skyrim, you just got spiked grates and hanging heavy objects.