REQUEST Breedable horses - brainstorming ideas

Discussion in 'Mods' started by Zhuria, Mar 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Zhuria

Zhuria Cosmic Narwhal

So I've been doing a lot of thinking about how breedable horses could be implemented. I have no coding experience (at least none that is relevant here) but if someone wanted to work with me on this, I would be willing to handle all or most of the art side. There's a pretty big market for games with more complex horse mechanics; the equestrian community is also pretty active in the video game one.

Here are my ideas so far - hopefully this all makes sense. PLEASE feel free to join in and add ideas or discuss mine!

Stables
    1. Upgradeable buildings like the barn and coop where horses live. I can't picture this being too difficult.
    Horses
    1. Make them like other livestock; a separate thing from rideable horse (at least in the beginning?). Would basically just be adding another animal to the game or cloning the cow and swapping the sprites. Sprites will need to be touched up to work with the cow sheet but I'm willing to do this.
    2. 2-3 life stages (foal, yearling (maybe), adult)
    3. Buy basic colours from Marnie? Or maybe only acquirable through breeding?
    4. Breedable. Either a) you can own stallions or b) Marnie has a random one each day/week (or both)
    5. Realistic genetics. Extension, agouti, gray, cream, dun, roan, pinto patterns, appaloosa patterns, random white markings (I have a fairly good grasp on this stuff)
    Goals
    1. Add some kind of request board where you get requests for a certain colour horse which you can accept, and gives you goals to breed towards? Much like current quests, but last for longer (or indefinitely) and detect horse's genes.

Complex ideas/further down the road/miscellaneous
    1. More complex: Buy saddles (and bridles?) and equip your horses to ride them