1. When making a thread, please tag your thread accordingly using the menu to the left of the textfield where you name your thread where applicable. Server Advertisements and Mod Releases should be contained to their respective subforums.

A word of warning: Renting servers from Multiplay.

Discussion in 'Server Hosts' started by CeeDub, Jul 16, 2016.

1. CeeDub

CeeDub Void-Bound Voyager

Recently, Multiplay is offering discounted Starbound servers for $5 instead of their usual $17, for 12 players. I just started playing again this week and chose to use them because they offered instant setup and delivered on it along with good performance in the past, but for the last 3 days its been a complete and utter nightmare. The 'automatic setup' they promised created a copy of the Starbound server in clanforge that literally would not start up -- hitting 'Start Server' threw the entire installation into an endless loop of segfault failures. I had to contact support, and a rep had to completely wipe out the default profile and replace it with a fixed one.

The problems didn't end there, though.. Since then, about 3-6 times a day, I've had to get in contact with their support reps about my server automatically restarting anytime I had 2 or more players on it, even though I was paying for 12 slots. Starbound's server software is using 5+GB of memory for 2 people for some reason, and its causing the multiplay.co.uk servers to force-reboot anytime I have 2-4 people online within a period of 1-2 hours. Their support techs don't seem to have any idea what is going on or any familiarity with Starbound, and have now literally tried even moving my Starbound sever install to a different set of physical hardware, along with about a half dozen config changes now, and its still persisting.

Here's screenshotted proof of just how many messages have been sent back and forth with support:

[​IMG]