Modding Help help w/ xnb modding on mac

Discussion in 'Mods' started by maxiner, Jan 5, 2017.

1. maxiner

maxiner Scruffy Nerf-Herder

ok so i'm very new to this modding stuff... all day i've tried to unpackage xnb files, first i tried using xnbnode with wine and following this tutorial. then i tried a basic terminal method on reddit but it's not capable with 1.1 anymore so i'm out of options. my biggest issue is following the windows tutorials, the commands are different and using wine is a struggle i'm not tech savvy

i know modding on a mac is near to impossible, and i really want to make my own stuff for the game????? so if anyone could help me out/ give me tips that'd be great

• MysticTempest

MysticTempest Spaceman Spiff

If you have Wine already installed; that's good. Then go to the first tutorial link you posted, and get the updated version of XNBNode: http://www.mediafire.com/download/fwg3p0rmp3q2v36/xnb_node.0.2.2.7z

Next, extract the contents of the zip file into your folder for modding. Let's call it "ModTool", as an example. And, for simplicity; let's put it under your home folder.

After you've extracted the zip file you should have a folder called "xnb-node", and a script called "xnb_node.cmd" inside your folder, 'ModTool'.

Now, under 'ModTool' and next to the other files. Create 2 empty folders, one named 'Packed' and the other 'Unpacked'

This is how it should look:
      ModTool
      ├── Packed
      ├── Unpacked
      ├── xnb-node
      └── xnb_node.cmd

Now, I generally extract all the files at once so I can have them ready whenever I need. So, go to your Steam Library. Right Click on Stardew Valley, and go down to 'Properties'.
      Then in the new window head over to the 3rd tab, 'Local Files'. From there click on 'Browse Local Files'. That'll take you directly to your Stardew Valley gamefiles.

Copy the 'Content' folder over into the 'Packed' folder you made a little while ago.