How to make hair and clothing?

Discussion in 'Mods' started by Dziva, Dec 21, 2018.

1. Dziva

Dziva Void-Bound Voyager

I'm new to Stardew Valley modding but I really would like to start as I have ideas I want. The thing is, I look for tutorials but I'm overwhelmed by the information on them and what ones are actually for making hair and clothing. Any help would be appreciated! Maybe link me the good tutorials for beginners?

• Escaleone

Escaleone Scruffy Nerf-Herder

I'm not familiar with any tutorials for that, but if you install SMAPI and the Content Patcher mod, you can use content packs that edit Stardew's files and replace things like hair and shirts. It's probably the easiest way to add that kind of content, especially without much coding.

I went ahead and set up an example content pack that should handle what you want to do, attached to this post.

If you unzip the folder and put it inside the Stardew Valley/Mods folder, Content Patcher will replace the game's existing hairstyles and shirts with the ones in the hairstyles.png and shirts.png images. Right now the images are just copied from the game itself, but you can edit the existing hair/shirts or make the images bigger (vertically, at the bottom) to add more.

Here are a couple images to clarify some of the editing details: https://imgur.com/a/omDPifx

If you add a new row of hair/shirts to the image, Stardew will include that whole row in the character creation menu. (Accessories and pants don't work the same way, though, so I can't help much with those.)