Actual Planet Variety™

Discussion in 'Planets and Environments' started by Quillon, Nov 18, 2017.

1. Quillon

Quillon Subatomic Cosmonaut

I love Starbound. I love building, decorating, fighting the bosses, fishing, and a whole lot of other things. Exploring is not one of those things. I swear, the Starbound universe is made up of the same 18 planets copy-pasted throughout the galaxy. If you've seen one Arctic planet, you've seen em all.

It doesn't have to be like this. Here are some ideas to make each planet feel more unique.

More Unique Monsters:
    Here's a question. Why is it that every lush planet has the same gleams, poptops, and nutmidges? I think this problem can at least be minimized by adding more monsters. For example, if the lush biome had 12 different native monsters, divided into four sets of three, then lush planets will be worth revisiting, if only for mob-collecting. One planet could have the classic 3, another could have 3 brand new monsters. I'm no coder, but I'm sure making monsters can't be too taxing especially not compared to what you guys have worked on in the past. But there's another addition too monsters that I believe would help.

Variations in Unique mobs:
    Why does each pop top, each bobot, each *whatever* have to look the same? What if there was a pool of assets and variations to mix things up a bit? For example, that poptop may be big, red, and stripey, while this one is small, blue, and has an antenna!

Tree Variation: