Aging Characters and New Generations.

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by Ananome, May 16, 2016.

1. Ananome

Ananome Intergalactic Tourist

I think in the future updates it will be great to see our characters get old so do the people of the valley. For more dynamism, old characters will eventually die and new generation will appear.
    Let other bachelor and bachelorettes marry each other too.

Sorry newbie here, but I think it'd be great to see these suggestions in the game.

• ssokolow

ssokolow Cosmic Narwhal

It's been suggested before. My main issue with it was that, if implemented incautiously, it would drive people like me to use cheat engine to periodically rewind time because "In games with sandbox elements where I've poured a lot of effort in, the game ends when I say it does, dammit!"

(That's why I never forgave the original Harvest Moon for SNES as a kid.)

Gabaw and ChaosAzeroth like this.
      • ChaosAzeroth

ChaosAzeroth Existential Complex

This made me cry in a wonderful life.
        You have to basically screw with your kid to keep playing form what I hear. As soon as they figure out what they want to be you're dead. 3:
        ((Was even worse in that though cause the seed mixing in ch 2 and the seasons being short as well as forcing you to marry by the end of year one. So this wouldn't be that bad to be fair.))

I think that would take a lot more programing too, IDK. I mean even in Rune Factory 2 where you become your kid and all the content is there the villagers stay the same.

I heard in Tree of Tranquility you can eventually have new game plus you play as your kid. ((I'm not sure if that's true or what tbh.)) If it was more like a new game+ and you choose to that would be more fair I think? If the programing wouldn't be an issue that is.

Gabaw likes this.
        • Ananome