Crop thoughts from a real farmer!

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by madpluck, Apr 22, 2016.

1. madpluck

madpluck Void-Bound Voyager

I'm a small organic farmer (looks a lot like playing your first Spring in Stardew Valley) and here are some thoughts I have on the crops already in-game:
    Kale: Kale is not a "one and one" like cabbage or cauliflower. The plant grows a tall upright stalk about nipple-high, and the leaves are cut from it individually, and can be harvested from for MONTHS. It can be grown equally well in the spring and the fall.
    Strawberry: Although it's always been a Spring crop in HM, these plants do not reliably bear fruit until summer.
    Blueberry: these are a perennial; they do not really produce a cropload of fruit until their second year, but I understand it would be weird to have "bushes" in addition to trees, which is really how blackberries and blueberries grow.
    Corn: Corn is almost always planted for a single harvest. It takes forever to produce, and produces a tonne once it's ready, but most farmers harvest from a plant once or twice and then cut it down.
    Melon/Pumpkin: technically these plants produce for quite a while, producing several fruits that ripen over time for multiple harvests.
    Radish: Radishes are a spring crop. Period. Plant them in the summer and they will go to seed before you can harvest them. They hate summer heat.
    Beet: Beets are a Spring/Summer crop.
    Bok Choy/Cabbage: Can be planted in Spring or Fall.
    Eggplant: Is a summer crop, and is usually planted at the exact same time as peppers and tomatoes, which are their cousins.
    I'm just tellin' @ConcernedApe what life is really like on a farm in a temperate zone (these times are just as valid for a farm in Wisconsin as they are for a farm in North Carolina).

• Aemi

Aemi Starship Captain