Modding Help Help adding Surfboards!

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by KaiNalu, Apr 27, 2020.

1. KaiNalu

KaiNalu Big Damn Hero

Aloha Starbound community!

My name is KaiNalu and I’m looking for some help. I was wondering if anyone could help add surfboards into the game as a furniture/decoration item. I would love to work with whoever wants to help with designs, shapes, etc. I have no knowledge on modding, but would love to learn if you would want me to be that involved. My Steam name is kainalu96 and I’m usually on almost every day, I’m on Hawaii time so my be later at night for some.
    I'm going to attach some pictures I found on google that portray what I'm imagining. If the boards could come in the game horizontal and vertical that would be ideal. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Sloppy Rob

Sloppy Rob Void-Bound Voyager

Hello, KaiNalu!

First off, do note I am a beginner modder, but I'm more than happy to help you out.

I believe this would be a rather simple mod to make. In fact, this is likely a perfect project for somebody to learn modding because it's essentially a copy-and-paste of an object, but with tweaking to get some familiarity with how it's set up. The Starbound Official Wiki has a helpful guide on modding. https://starbounder.org/Modding:Portal

Unpack your assets, look in the "objects" folder of the assets you just unpacked, and find a similar item. ".\floran\huntingweaponrack1" for a ground-mounted rack and ".\hylotl\hylotlkatanarack" for a wall-mounted rack would make great templates. Both of these objects have 4 files in their folder: a .frames file, a .object file, and two .png files. I'd recommend using Notepad++ (do not use "Notepad", which comes with your computer) for opening and making the .frames and .object files, and using Aseprite (it's available on Steam and it's apparently what Chucklefish uses, but it costs money) for .png files.