Modding Help How do I make a bow animated??

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by mclovin, May 28, 2017.

1. mclovin

mclovin Big Damn Hero

Hey, I'm very new to modding so please don't hate me :rofl:. I want to make a custom bow, I know how to use Starbound Hatter to put custom items into .json then modify them with starcheat but I don't know how to make a custom bow have an animation (y'know Drawback animation.) I was hoping someone could help me understand how to do this :p? Thanks!

2. G.Xyon

G.Xyon Space Kumquat

A good place to start is by ditching 3rd party programs much like Starcheat and Starbound Hatter (no disrespect meant to their respective authors) and learn how to properly mod Starbound through unpacking the assets and making the item yourself. It's not very hard once you start out!

Here's a niftly little guide on how to unpack .pak files, which all of the assets are compressed into.

Once you have that down, your next step is to make an item from scratch or using a template (I recommend using a template since it's worlds easier). Since what you want is a bow, you will need to seek where the bow files are. Within the unpacked assets, all of the bows can be found in the following nest of folders: items > active > weapons > bow. From there, you can select any bow you wish, but for the sake of simplicity we'll be using the beginner hunting bow, simply called 'bow'.

Of course, getting this far without proper programs won't get you too far later on. In order to read and understand some of the included files in this folder, you will need a good text editor: something like Notepad++ should be sufficient, and Paint.Net for the graphical aspects of modding is more than enough.