REQUEST Jewelry Mod

Discussion in 'Mods' started by HopeWasHere, Jan 16, 2017.

1. HopeWasHere

HopeWasHere Existential Complex

Hey, I’m fairly new to modding and I don’t know if this would be possible, but is there a way to add items to the blacksmith shop for “upgrades”? Seeing as this is a spiritual successor to Harvest Moon, and I’m a big fan of those games, I thought maybe one of the features could be added. Specifically, the ability to take gems to the blacksmith to make jewelry gifts for the villagers. Other than being worth a lot of money (for some of the items) they don’t serve much of a purpose. And I know that there’s the combat jewelry you can craft for your own character, but I figured when you’re all done upgrading tools all the blacksmith is good for is geodes (unless you have a mod for that).

Anyway, I’ve been looking at different mods others have done; specifically how to add items to the shops, add new crafting recipes, and adding new items to the game:
    http://community.playstarbound.com/threads/shop-expander.127913/
    http://www.nexusmods.com/stardewvalley/mods/814/?
    [SMAPI] New machines (flour, sugar, vinegar, rice?)
    (^adding new craftables)
    [SMAPI] New machines (flour, sugar, vinegar, rice?)
    (^adding new items)

But none of them talk about adding items for “upgrade” like the tools.

Anyway, I’m no modder, so I thought I throw the idea out there. Maybe make it a trade-off like in Harvest Moon. It cost time and money to make jewelry, but it might be worth more profit. Would love to see a reason to hold on to my corals or diamonds or something. Anyway, let me know what you think or if it would even be possible.

Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
      feelreldan and Milkheart like this.
    • Igorious

Igorious Sandwich Man

Sounds interesting, but it's hard-coded, that means only Tool items can be upgraded. Also, there are no points of interception for Blacksmith location, so you can't just «insert» your logic to code.