Modding Discussion Persistent variable in item's script

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Stardestroyer001, Aug 19, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Stardestroyer001

Stardestroyer001 Void-Bound Voyager

Hey all! I'm new to modding and I'm trying to create a mod that adds the ability to beam up even if underground by crafting and using an item...
    I wanted to set some limits like you have to wait some times while the items load while standing still and not taking damage and a cooldown period for successive teleportation.
    I tried using storage.timer in order to save the inner timer state when saving/loading game or changing worlds but when you throw the item and pick it up the storage variable reset and I can't find another solution to achieve the same thing.
    Is it possible to store my variable to somewhere "safe"?

2. Errors4l

Errors4l Spaceman Spiff

Have a look at activeItem.setInstanceValue. you could also use status.setStatusProperty for player-sided data.

3. Stardestroyer001

Thanks a lot!
    I tried both solutions and the InstanceValue one seems to work without issues. I didn't have a config file but it still worked.
    I found some reference for activeItem.setInstanceValue in the vehiclecontroller.lua script but when trying to read the parameter it uses config.GetParameter. Do I have to create a .config file?
    How to use status.setStatusProperty? What are the differences between the two?

If I put the setInstanceValue in the die function it is guaranteed that it always stores the data or there are some exception when die() isn't called and the self variables may reset?

4. Errors4l

Errors4l Spaceman Spiff