Modding Help Possible to set renderlayer properties to a material tileset?

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by terminalcaesura, Sep 15, 2019.

1. terminalcaesura

terminalcaesura Void-Bound Voyager

I'm pretty new to modding and building some custom materials (tilesets(?)) and i was wondering if there's a similar property to object orientation's renderLayer where I could have the tiles appear in front of the player?

For example, I would like the player (and other entities) to be a layer behind the red highlighted blocks
    upload_2019-9-15_12-30-53.png

I tried putting the renderLayer tag both inside and outside the renderParameters section of the .material file and set the zLevel to a high number as a wild guess, but it didn't seem to work or produce an error in the log.

Code:
    {
     "materialId" : 46206,
     "materialName" : "conkretebarrier",
     "collisionKind" : "none",
     "particleColor" : [60, 60, 60, 255],
     "itemDrop" : "conkretebarrier",

"description" : "Concrete Barrier",
     "shortdescription" : "Concrete Barrier",
     "footstepSound" : "/sfx/blocks/footstep_stone2.ogg",
     "health" : 32,
     "category" : "materials",
     "renderLayer" : "player+1",

"renderTemplate" : "/tiles/slopedmaterialtemplate.config",
     "renderParameters" : {
     "texture" : "conkretebarrierhighlighted.png",
     "variants" : 5,
     "lightTransparent" : true,
     "occludesBelow" : false,
     "multiColored" : false,
     "zLevel" : 9999,
     "renderLayer" : "player+1"
     }
    }

any suggestions if this is even possible? Any guesses are welcome and greatly appreciated!

2. RainbowHannah

RainbowHannah Void-Bound Voyager

I don't believe materials use renderLayer, so the reason it isn't even erroring is that nothing is looking at the renderLayer in the first place. I think it might be wiser to create objects that look like materials than to create materials themselves, because materials aren't really meant to do that.