Modding Help Racial patch for FU/Race compatibility not working sometimes, other times works fine?

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Cuddlycuttlefish, Mar 19, 2021.

1. Cuddlycuttlefish

Cuddlycuttlefish Big Damn Hero

Hello! I'm coming here in hopes of getting some help. I'm extremely new to modding, but I made a patch recently for the "mollopods" race that adds frackin universe's racial stats & BYOS function

For reference that mod is here on the workshop: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2427232435&searchtext= (I can also share some sort of github of all the files if that's useful!)

Now the issue is that SOMETIMES the patch doesn't work, & other times it works totally fine. I've triple checked all my files & they match other similar patches, I've even tried breaking the patch into two parts (so that BYOS and racial bonuses are separate) -- I've tried with and without FU's modded races mods, too, to the same effect.

I've only been able to recreate the issue with an entirely new universe file, & when it happens there's many "failed to load" errors for mollopod items from the original "mollopods!" race mod

for example:
    [Error] Could not load image asset '/items/armors/mollopod/mollopod - dress/bsleeve.png:idle.5', using placeholder default.
    (AssetException) No associated frames file found for image '/items/armors/mollopod/mollopod - dress/bsleeve.png' while resolving image frame '/items/armors/mollopod/mollopod - dress/bsleeve.png:idle.5'
    these types of error are not there without my patch, & its not there when I'm on my original universe with the patch, but is there consistently when I start over with brand new player/universe files.