Modding Discussion "Slime Race Mod" - bouncing or fall damage?

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by XelSlime, Oct 5, 2016.

?

Are you alright with bouncing off of stuff instead of taking fall damage?

1. Alright.

4 vote(s)
    18.2%
  2. It does make sense for slimes...

8 vote(s)
    36.4%
  3. Depends on the amount of bounce.

5 vote(s)
    22.7%
  4. Do what you want to do.

2 vote(s)
    9.1%
  5. I hate bouncing, I'd rather take the fall damage.

1 vote(s)
    4.5%
  6. Just make them take no fall damage.

2 vote(s)
    9.1%
  1. XelSlime

XelSlime Scruffy Nerf-Herder

PLEASE READ THE THREAD FIRST.

At a point, I wanted to make these slimes bounce instead of taking fall damage. I forgot about that (and wouldn't be sure how to do it anyway, I'm no programmer or whatever), but Chopan did the work, and I tried it out just now.

With this change, the ability to take fall damage is replaced with bouncing when hitting a surface. This includes when you run into walls or hit your head on the ceiling. It's comparable to the bouncy effect caused by "Sticky Slime" in Frackin' Universe, and though I didn't like that at the time, well... I admit it's kind of fun, and it can be considered both a pro AND a con in that way. Trading one thing for another, which... can be controlled, actually, with the right stuff.

NOTE however, that I will also be making a variant of the Wall Jump, one that lets you stay in place like the sticky slime you are. I might drop the mid-air jump on this "Sticky Wall Jump" or whatever it'll be called, for balance's sake. I mean I know, sticking to a wall and not sliding isn't that big a deal (unless you'd regularly have to keep jumping like MegaMan X to stay in a safe point during a boss fight or something), but this's the only wall jump I know of that'll let you stay in one spot. At least I hope it works out.

I'll begin working on it right now.