Modding Help Sound replacing

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by turok400, Feb 3, 2015.

1. turok400

turok400 Void-Bound Voyager

hey im kinda new to modding.. well like new as heck. i was

wondering if some one could tell how to replace sound files like weapon sounds and stuff

2. Olxinos

Olxinos Scruffy Nerf-Herder

Yes, either look for them in /sfx (in the unpacked assets) then create a mod with a sfx folder containing your audio file with the same name, or patch the file where the sound is references.
    The first method will replace the sound for everything (if there were 42 weapons using that sound, they will all use your new sound).
    The second will only replace the sound of a specific sword, and only the newly crafted ones (and is usually seen as cleaner, since the first one may also affect other mods trying to use the sound you replaced, or because you can also replace something you didn't wanted to).
    Here are two examples, the first one will replace the sound of all the shortswords (and maybe more) even those already created, the second will only replace the sound of the tier1 human shortsword ("regular shortsword") and only the newly created ones.
    Don't install both at the same time.

Attached Files:

3. turok400

So. to replace a single sound i would single out the one file or? because i want to replace rpg sound effects

4. Olxinos

Yes, that's it. What are "rpg" sound effects?

5. turok400

Rocket launcher

6. Olxinos

Then you should patch /items/guns/randomgenerated/commonrocketlauncher.generatedgun, /items/guns/randomgenerated/uncommonrocketlauncher.generatedgun, /items/guns/randomgenerated/rarerocketlauncher.generatedgun and /items/guns/randomgenerated/legendaryrocketlauncher.generatedgun (or replace sfx/gun/rocket_shot.wav)

7. turok400

but how do i do that?

8. Olxinos

Ah, yes, sorry, you should look at my example (sound2) and this tutorial, this can also come in handy.

9. turok400