Digital Starboundiness - A Comic

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by Vurrunna, Apr 24, 2019.

1. Vurrunna

Vurrunna Giant Laser Beams

A long time ago, I attempted to make a comic here, which only got a single entry followed by a series of character sketches before being unceremoniously abandoned. Recently, though, I started playing Starbound again, and remembered how much I adore this game. So! More comics for you lovely people--my deepest condolences.

Starboundiness 001.png

How marvelous.

I'll allow the story behind all this unfold on its own (you can get a rough idea of my original idea in the link above, though I've changed some things). One of the big reasons I'm making this comic is for practice, so I'm gonna be keeping notes on how I feel about my progress and results and such.

So halfway through this, I tried a new brush, and it turned out marvelously. It's harder to tell now that I've added color to all the panels (originally the first three were just black-and-white), but there was a rather decent transition of line quality as I got to the lower panels.

I'm not a huge fan of my line-shading, but it's easier than finding colors to shade with, so it'll do for now. Also, the later panels have greater line thickness, which lead to much cleaner results. Note to self: Don't draw with a thin brush. It friggin' stinks.

Not sure how I feel about the color palette. I like the colors, but they're all so vibrant--it feels like there's no time to rest your eyes. Colors have never been my strong suit, but here it's especially noticeable.

The poses here feel rather... Tame. I preferred in my years-old sketch when Niteni spat directly into the 'camera' rather than spitting downward (it made him feel more 3D), and it made more sense when he turned to his right rather than his left.

Of course, I've improved in overall quality--the characters' designs feel more concrete, and there's actually been some thought put into the background.