Suggestion Technical Suggestions for Possible AI Improvement

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by Beefster, Mar 24, 2019.

1. Beefster

Beefster Poptop Tamer

I don't know details about the Wargroove engine and I don't know the nitty gritty details on the AI, but there is a pretty common consensus that, at least for Arcade Mode, the AI is... bad. It sorta ends up making things uninteresting when the only way the AI stands a chance with a massive material advantage. Since most people have complained about the campaign being too difficult, I don't think that's necessarily a good place for an improved AI. Maybe if some of the advantages were trimmed, but not for the default difficulty.

I wouldn't say I'm an expert at AI, but I have done a number of minor AI projects and have a background in computer science with an unofficial emphasis in AI/Machine Learning. Basically I just took all the AI classes my university offered, did some AI research, and made some bots. I'm no dummy about AI and I understand the challenges we're dealing with here from a technical standpoint.

Any sort of tree search is infeasible. The combinatorial explosion is far too big to even do one round of adversarial search. There is no way the AI can make grandmaster decisions without practically putting players to sleep while the AI thinks (maybe with deep learning and a million CPU hours of training on some supercomputing cluster. Maybe.) The AI has to take pretty massive shortcuts. That's just reality, especially if this game is to run well on weak devices.

High level ideas like "don't move to a location were the commander can be killed in one turn" don't exactly work for the aforementioned combinatorial explosion issue.

So let's take a look at the most glaring issues with the AI:
    • It doesn't make use of transports. At all.