Modding Help Weapon Abilities & Animations

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Bahaumut, Jan 28, 2017.

1. Bahaumut

Bahaumut Void-Bound Voyager

Hello, this is my first post on this forum and I'm new to modding.
    So far, I've already been able to make crafting stations, throwables, and one melee weapon.
    I wanted to know if certain weapon abilities/animations only work on weapons in their class.
    For example, can a hammer use the spin ability for spears? Can spears use a hammer's animations?
    Anything would be helpful, thanks!

Soul Food likes this.
  2. Vinderex

Vinderex Pangalactic Porcupine

You can mix and match most of them as you like. Only thing I've heard (emphasis on heard, I haven't tried it myself so don't know for sure) is that Staff and Wand abilities tend to not work on other weapons.

3. IHart

IHart Scruffy Nerf-Herder

I believe the general concept is that the abilities rely on code present in the "script" value chosen for the weapon.
    Here is the line from a broadsword
    Code:
    "scripts" : ["/items/active/weapons/melee/meleeweapon.lua"]
    a rocket launcher:
    Code:
    "scripts" : ["/items/active/weapons/ranged/gun.lua"]
    and a wand
    Code:
    "scripts" : ["/items/active/weapons/staff/staff.lua"]
    Since most melee weapons use this same script any melee abilities should be compatible, same within ranged weapons, and same within the staff types, but not across these categories.
    With a well placed custom Lua script you could change the behavior of your weapon to literally anything you want, but this is the behavior limitations in place when just utilizing JSON.

4. MetaFace

MetaFace Guest