1. If you're looking for help-related things (for example, the key rebinding tutorial), please check the FAQ and Q&A forum! A lot of the stickies from this forum have been moved there to clean up space.
    Dismiss Notice

What to consider when making a home planet?

Discussion in 'Starbound Discussion' started by Astrid Speckles, Mar 9, 2019.

1. Astrid Speckles

Astrid Speckles Subatomic Cosmonaut

So I'm rather new to Starbound and I've been putting off making a home planet for awhile now since there is just so many variables to consider and aspects I'm not even aware of. (feel free to provide cords if you think of ideal certain planets)

I pretty much want to set up farms, colonies, set up a 'zoo' and show of my collections (fossils, fish, bugs, critters, etc).
    But I want to maximize the planet to the best of my abilities. But I have no clue what to look for in planets.

What do you put into consideration when you made your home base, and what are things you wish you knew?
    What things do you have set up in your home base
    Are there other things that people usually set up that are "must have"s on starbound?

2. Daikon Ocelot

Daikon Ocelot Spaceman Spiff

Well, if I am going to build a base, I am going to build it in a friendly planet, like the forest and the savannah. The first building I am going to build is the HQ or the townhall (a.k.a my house). Its purpose is to serve safety when I am building the other houses.

Second, I will build several houses beside it, from the small simple cottage in to the huge tall flat. I am trying to make variation among the buildings, so it doesn't looks plain. Those buildings are for the tenants or NPCs.

Third, the watchtower. I will build it at both far end of the settlement, and some also near the important buildings. There will be the Guard NPCs stationed there. I will also place a couple of defence turret for extra protection.